BEST ALBUM of 2016 by NoSA

Albums! LP’s! Records! Only The Best! Only Quality! Spinning! On Repeat! Recommended! Essential!


25. Kaytranada – 99.9% (hiphop, house, genius) [XL Recordings] (Haiti/Canada)



24. Childish Gambino – “Awaken, My Love” (hip-hop, soul, funk) (USA)

Best Tracks: Me and Your Mama, Redbone, California;

renijusis23. Reni Jusis – Bang (electronic/pop) (Poland)

Best Tracks: Zombi Świat [watch the video on Vevo] , Na Skróty Tęczą;


22. The Avalanches – Wildflower [Modular/XL Recordings] (electronic/sample based music) (Australia)

Best Tracks: Wizard of Iz, Colours, Subways; [listen on You Tube]


21. Wacław Zimpel – Lines [Instant Classic] (jazz/experimental) (Poland)

Best track: Tak, Picture;


20. Anderson .Paak – Malibu (hip-hop/soul) [Steel Wool] (USA)

Best Tracks: Lite Weight, Celebrate;


19. Rainbow Chan – Spacing (pop/electronic) [Silo Arts & Records] (Australia)

Best Tracks: Nest, Work, Last;


18. Deerhoof – The Magic (indie rock) [Upset The Rhythm] (USA)

Best Tracks: Acceptance Speech, Plastic Thrills;


17. BADBADNOTGOOD – IV (jazz/funk/hiphop) (USA)


16. Roisin Murphy – Take Her Up To Monto (electronic/experimental pop) (Ireland/UK)


15. Jeff Parker – The New Breed (jazz/experimental/post-rock) [International Anthem] (USA)


14. GL – Touch (electronic/pop/dance) [Plastic World] (Australia)

[listen to the sampler] Best Tracks: Body Language,


13. M83 – Junk (electronic/pop) (self-released) (France)

Best Tracks: Bibi The Dog, Time Wind, For The Kids;

packshot1-768x76812. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree (alternative, folk, blues) (Australia/UK)

Best Tracks: Jesus Alone, I Need You; [listen to the official playlist on You Tube]


11. LEISURE – LEISURE (soul/pop/indie) (New Zealand)

Best Tracks: Moonbean, Nobody, Take It To The Top;

10. Bon Iver – 22, A Milion (indie/folk/singer-songwriter) (USA)


9. Ray LaMontagne -Ouroboros (indie/folk/singer-songwriter) (USA)


8. The Amazing – Ambulance (indie rock) [Partisan Records] (Sweden)

Best Tracks: Ambulance, Moments Like These;


7. Júníus Meyvant – Floating Harmonies (folk/indie) (Iceland)

Best Tracks: Beat Silent Need, Colour Decay, Neon Experience, Hailslide;


6. HONNE – Warm On A Cold Night (pop/soul) [Tatemae Records] (UK) [listen]

Best Tracks: Gone Are The Days, Good Together, Coastal Love;


5. Motorama – Dialogues (indie rock) [Talitres] (Russia)

Best Track: Tell Me;

4. Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool [XL Recordings] (indie rock/legends) (UK)

Best Tracks: Burn The Witch, Daydreaming, True Love Waits;

bibio3. Bibio – A Mineral Love (electronic/folk) [Warp] (UK)

Best Tracks: Petals, A Mineral Love;


2. David Bowie – ★ [listen]


1. Metronomy – Summer 08 [Because Music] (indie/electronic/pop/dance)

Honorable Mentions:

Goat – Requiem (Rocket Recordings)

Frank Ocean – Blonde (Boys Don’t Cry)

Roosevelt – Roosevelt (Greco- Roman)

Nick Waterhouse – Never Twice (Innovative Leisure)

Ishamel – Sometime In Space (Church)

Yumi Zouma – Yoncalla (Cascine)

The Invisible – Patience (Ninja Tune)

Kornel Kovack – With Bells (Studio Barnhus)

Buz Luztra – Jungle Tapes

Klaus Johann Grobe – Spagat Der Liebe

Solange – A Seat At The Table (Columbia Records)

Jamie Lidell – Building a Beginning (self-released)

Soft Hair – Soft Hair (Domino Recording)

Public Access TV – Never Enough (Cinematic Music Group)

Nicolas Jaar – Sirens (Other People)

Cassius – Ibifornia (Interscope Records)

Lambchop – Flotus (City Slang)


December 27, 2016. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . 2016, The Best Of 2016, Video. Leave a comment.

Traveling At the Speed of Music: Motorama – Dispersed Energy / Heavy Wave (post-punk, Russia)


Motorama, described by some of their compatriots as “the best Russian band”, is a post-punk quintet hailing from Rostov-on-Don, South of Russia. The band is one of the very few acts that give a tiny glimpse into the unknown realm of Russian alternative scene.

With 2 albums, few self-released EP’s and 2 brilliant singles already in their bag, the band is preparing to put out their third album, entitled Poverty, this month. Motorama’s gloomy output, heavily under the influence of Joy Division’s records,  marries Interpol’s motorik basslines with vampiric delivery in flawless English by the band’s singer, Vladislav Parshin. Their songs carry a heavy load of melancholic beauty and melodies strong enough to make feel the need to hum along.

The first tracks from the new album, Dispersed Energy and Heavy Wave, that the band have premiered online, do not signal a sharp turn in Motorama’s musical direction. Which is not necessarily a bad thing.

The preorders for Poverty (CD/LP/Cass/digital) begin 12.01.15 from band’s webstore .

January 8, 2015. Tags: , , , , , , , . Arrivals, Traveling sounds. Leave a comment.