The Best Tracks of 2016 part 3 (40-11)

Part 3 of NoSA’s Annual Best Song of the Year countdown – 2016 edition.



40. Júníus Meyvant – Neon Experience

39. Adibanti – Pearls

38. Michael Kiwanuka – Black Man In A White World (from Love & Hate )

37. GL – Body Language (from Touch)

36. David Bowie – I Can’t Give Everything Away (from Blackstar)

35. Groeni – Hedre

34. NAO – Get to Know Ya [listen]

33 soniamiki – Fantazi (from Federico)


32 Laura Mvula Feat. Nile Rodgers – Overcome (from The Dreaming Room)


<p><a href=”″>Drone Bomb Me – by ANOHNI</a> from <a href=””>nabil elderkin</a> on <a href=””>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

31. ANOHNI – Drone Bomb Me (from Hopelessness)


<p><a href=”″>A.K. Paul – Landcruisin'</a> from <a href=”″>Dave Fisher</a> on <a href=””>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

30. A. K. Paul – Landcruisin’

29. Jessy Lanza – It Means I Love You (from Oh No)

28. Factory Floor – Ya (from 25 25)

27. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds –  I Need You (from Skeleton Tree)

26. Reni Jusis –  Zombi Swiat (from BANG!)

25. Klyne – Don’t Stop

24. Lone – Vapour Trail (from Levitate)


23, MULA – No hay manera

22. Disclosure – BOSS (Radio Edit) (from Moog for Love) [listen]

21. Car Seat Headrest – Fill in the Blank (from Teens in Denial)

20. Anderson Paak – Light Weight (feat. The Free Nationals United Fellowship Choir)


19. Dirty Projectors  – Keep Your Name

18. Chain Wallet –  Muted Colours

17. Klaus Johann Grobe – Geschichten aus erster Hand (from Spagat der Liebe)



16. Paradis – Toi et moi (from Retro Verso)

15. Rainbow Chan – Nest (from Spacings)

14. Motorama – Tell Me (from Dialogues)

13. Damien Jurado – QACHINA (from Visions of Us on the Land)

12.Charlotte Day Wilson – Work  (from CDW )

11. DJ Shadow – Nobody Speak (feat. Run The Jewels) (from The Mountain Will Fall)


December 29, 2016. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . 2016, List, The Best Of 2016. Leave a comment.

Arrivals: The Pictish Trail – Wait Until


Johnny Lynch aka Pictish Trail is not just another beardo with a laptop and a guitar you see fill the feeds of blogs lately. He’s been around for over a decade now, running Fence Records, the label founded King Creosote and responsible for the success of James Yorkston, organising festivals and writing some pretty amazing music. After Fence called it a day last August, Lynch has launched his own label, Lost Map Records, established at his caravan home on the Isle of Eigg, off shore of Scotland.

As the demand for bearded bards playing a mix of soul or folk tinted electronic music grow, two of Lynch’s previous albums will see a joint release via Moshi Moshi in June this year as Secret Soundz Vol 1&2. Wait Until, the first single gives a pretty good insight of what can we expect from Lynch. Gravitating towards and Hot Chips slower moments or the strong beat infused singer-songwriting of John Grant’s stunning Pale Green Ghosts, the track is hypnotic, hazy electronic track The build up in the beginning may suggest the track to explode anytime but the things go quite the contrary, burying itself in a hazy, beachside fuzz toward the end, which turns it into a confused, half remembered, somehow, uneasy dream. 

The special version will also feature the remix of Winter Home Disco done by the Hot Chip boys, previously available on their Bugged Out compilation. Check the original below.  

April 18, 2014. Tags: , , , , , , . Arrivals. Leave a comment.

Arrivals: Sebastien Tellier – L’amour Naissant



The news about the comeback of the French singer-songwriter, Sebastian Tellier, somehow slipped under my radar.  It’s also kind of surprising as it is his second long-player in less than two years. Dubbed as “electronic Gainsbourg”, Tellier is a poet, a jester (check out his Eurovision performance representing France in 2008), an intellectual and an charlatan. Just listen to his seducing track released earlier this year, a duet with Chairlift’s Caroline Polachek below.

After two excursions into deeper electronics, one utterly brilliant (Sexuality) and one meh (My God Is Blue), it looks like Monsieur Tellier decided to bring back his half-whispered poetics into the stings laden cinematic sound of his breakthrough album, Politics.

But don’t expect a straight-forward release. The first single, L’amour Naissant, is the only song on the album, but as three parter serving as an recurring theme.  The rest of the record is made up of instrumentals, making Confection, “a love letter to the film that doesn’t exist yet”.

The album entitled, Confection, drops the 14th of October. Shop for CD or Vinyl at Recordmakers

September 25, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , . Arrivals. Leave a comment.

Next Page »