The Best Albums of 2017

30. Joakim – Samurai (electronic, experimental) (Tigersushi/Because Music)


29. Elbow – Little Fictions (alternative, rock) [listen on YouTube]


28. Deerhoof – Mountain Moves (alternative, rock)


27. Jazz Band Młynarski/Masecki – Noc W Wielkim Miescie (jazz)


26. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built The Moon? (alternative) [listen on YouTube]


25. Floating Action – Is It Exquisite? (indie, folk)


24. Slum Sociable – Slum Sociable (electronic, pop)


[listen to selected tracks from the album on YT]

23. Yumi Zouma – What’s The Story? Morning Glory (indie, pop, covers)  Yumi-Zouma-Whats-The-Story-Morning-Glory-Cover-1487008652

[listen to “Don’t Look Back In Anger” & “Champagne Supernova]

22. The Cyclist – Sapa Inca Delirium (electronic, deep house)


21. Scott Gilmore – Subtle Vertigo (electronic, instrumental)


20. Zimpel/Ziolek – Zimple/Ziolek (folk, electronic, experimental)


19. Four Tet – New Energy (electronica)


18. Mount Kimbie – Love That Survives (electronic, experimental)


[listen to selected tracks from the album on YouTube]

17. Björk – Utopia (electronic, pop, experimental)


[listen to the album on YouTube]

16. Bibio – Phantom Brickworks (electronic, ambient)


[listen to the title track on YouTube]

15. Klyne – Klyne (electronic, alternative, pop)


14. Cancer – Totem (alternative, indie)


13. Moses Sumney – Aromanticism (indie, soul)


12. Ryan Adams – Prisoner B-Sides (alternative, rock) [listen on YouTube]


11. Flo Morrisey & Mathew E White – Gentlewoman, Ruby Man (indie, pop, covers)


10. Dirty Projectors – Dirty Projectors (experimental, pop, indie) [listen on YouTube]


9. Sampha – Process (r’n’b, experimental) [listen on YouTube]


8. Or Edry – Kidod (indie, pop)


7. Arca – Arca (experimental, electronic) (XL Recordings)

[listen on YouTube]


6. Demen – Nektyr (ambient, pop)


5. Jakuzi – Fantezi Müzik (indie, dance, pop)


4. Jens Lekman – Life Will See You Know (indie, pop)

a0817575643_10 [listen to the selected tracks on YT]

3. LCD SoundSystem – American Dream (dance, indie)


2. The War On Drugs – A Deeper Understanding (alternative rock)


1. Cigarettes After Sex – Cigarettes After Sex (alternative rock)


Honorable mentions:

Colin Stetson – All This I Do For Glory (experimental, jazz)

Austra – Future Politics

Ásgeir – Afterglow

El Pan Blanco – Droga (Burger Records)

Gabriel Garzon Montano – Jardin

Cut Copy – Haiku From Zero

Mac DeMarco – This Old Dog

Sevdaliza – Ison

James Vincent McMarrow – True Care

Bicep – Bicep (electronic, dance)

Blue Hawaii – Tenderness

Deerhoof – Mountain That Moves

Yellow Alex – House Of Discipline

Seven Davis Jr – LFTOS

Nixes – Nixes

Charlotte Gainsbourg – Rust

Liam Gallagher – As You Were




December 28, 2017. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . 2017, List, The Best of 2017. Leave a comment.

Arrivals: Django Django – Reflection


The Scottish dance punk quartet, Django Django are set to release their second LP in May and they have yet another track to prove that (listen to the previous single, First Light here). The band had made some serious waves with their 2012 self-titled debut and even bigger ones with its lead single Default (which snatched UK Festival Award for Anthem Of The Summer that year). It might be hard to beat the youthful energy and precise symmetry of Default but their new track, Reflections, is a different kind of animal. It’s a mature indie dance track, shapeshifting between the bands previous festival sized personality (vocal harmonies, house piano stabs and post-punk rhythm session) and a whimsical, moonlit entity complete with smoky sax and synth arpeggios. 

Reflections taken from Django Django’s new album Born Under Saturn, out May 4 on Because Music.

March 17, 2015. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , . 2015, Arrivals. Leave a comment.

Arrivals: Jaakko Eino Kalevi – Double Talk


You might not have heard of Jaakko Eino Kalevi yet, but apparently in Helsinki he already can proud himself with cult status. Self taught multi-instrumentalist, singer and composer, Kalevi, is an artist definitely worth checking out. His soft and mature material made up of equal measures of dream pop, funk and folk is a true listening pleasure. This mixture of indie pop charm, love for the vintage instruments as well as electronic sound, old-fashioned songwriting and crooning with a healthy dose of eccentricism puts him in a long line of self-made Scandinavian artists such as Jimi Tenor, Jens Lekman and El Perro Del Mar.

Jaakko (Eino?) is also not shy to go out outside the borders of his familiar genres, as he already borrowed his vocals to Kasper Bjorke’s album and has released a remix version of his standout, debut EP, Dreamzone. 


This summer will see (Eino?) Kalevi debuting his first international full-length release. Heralding the LP is Double Talk, a  summery and nostalgic, krauty-dream pop track, crowned with Kalevi’s vulnerable croon. The self-titled album is out in June.


Also, recently the Helsinkian worked his magic on the latest single from the promising, Swedish songstress, Alice Bodan. Her sweetly indolent vocals glue so well with Jaakko’s musical vision.



March 13, 2015. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . 2015, Arrivals. 1 comment.

Next Page »